University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Canadian Scottish Regimental Museum collection

Record No.

SC337

Main Entry

Canadian Scottish Regimental Museum

Title

Canadian Scottish Regimental Museum collection

Dates

1906-1992

Physical Description

45 cm of textual records. -- 169 photographs. -- 3 maps.

Bio/Admin History

The Canadian Scottish Regimental museum was opened by the Regiment's Colonel-in-Chief Her Royal Highness Princess Alexandra, GCVO, CD in May 1980. The museum is a non-publicly funded organization that is operated by a group of dedicated volunteers. The museum is a member of the Canadian Museums Association, the British Columbia Museums Association, and the Organization of Military Museums of Canada and Tourism Victoria. It is housed in the Armoury on 715 Bay Street, Victoria, British Columbia. Displays include material from the earliest days of the Regiment to its participation in United Nations peacekeeping operations. Since its opening, the museum has held many special displays, including a collection Victoria Crosses won by members of the 16th Battalion (The Canadian Scottish) during the First World War. This display was opened by British Columbia's Lieutenant Governor and the Regiment's most recent recruit cut the ribbon. The museum continues to accept donations of items pertaining to the Canadian military.

Scope and Content

The collection consists of items pertaining to the Canadian army with a focus on the 16th Battalion (The Canadian Scottish) and the Canadian Scottish Regiment. The collection is arranged into 6 alphabetically organized series. These series include ephemeral items (programs, pamphlets, menus Christmas cards, souvenir orders, and a poster), journals and scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, maps, photographs, and publications.

Title Source

Title based on the contents of the collection.

Finding Aids

Inventory available with series and file level control.

Online Finding Aids

The Canadian Scottish Regimental Museum: An Inventory of Records

Restrictions

Notes

Provenance

Canadian Scottish Regimental Museum, collector

Repository

University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections

Subject Headings

Canada. Canadian Army. Battalion, 16th

Canada. Canadian Army. Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's)

Canadian Scottish Regimental Museum

Military history, Modern--20th century

Military history--Canada

World War, 1914-1918--Canada

World War, 1939-1945--Canada

Related Links

Military History Collections