University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Charles Lillard fonds

Record No. SC253
Main Entry Lillard, Charles
Title Charles Lillard fonds
Dates 1965-1998
Physical Description 2.5 m of textual records. -- 36 audio cassettes.
Bio/Admin History Charles Lillard was a poet, dramatist, historian, writer, bibliographer, critic, editor and publisher specializing in the Northwest Coast. He was born in California and grew up in Alaska. He taught English at both UBC and UVIC. He had several volumes of poetry published, including Drunk on Wood (1972). He also worked as a columnist for several papers and contributed fiction and non-fiction to magazines. In addition, he edited and re-published several out of print historical works. Together with Robin Skelton and Rhonda Batchelor, he founded Reference West. He died in Victoria, B.C.
Scope and Content The fonds consists of: 1) correspondence - mainly with fellow writers including Patrick Lane, Susan Musgrave, George Payerle, Robin Skelton, and George Woodcock and with publishers; 2) manuscripts - mainly of his own poetry, drama, and prose, including a BC Bibliography of Literature; 3) notebooks - in which appear ideas, diary entries, drafts of work, etc.; and 4) audio cassettes (not yet listed).
Title Source Title based on the contents of the fonds.
Finding Aids Inventory and file lists available with series and file level control.
Online Finding Aids Box List for Accession 1998-035 (PDF, 75 kB)
Box List for Accession 1998-042 (PDF, 57 kB)
Box List for Accession 1999-007
(PDF, 110 kB)
Restrictions
Notes See also Reference West fonds.
Provenance Lillard, Charles
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Authors, Canadian--20th century--Correspondence
Bibliography--Literature--British Columbia
Canadian literature (English)--20th century
Canadian literature--20th century
Canadian poetry--20th century
Lane, Patrick
Lillard, Charles
Musgrave, Susan, 1951
Payerle, George, 1945-
Reference West (Firm)
Skelton, Robin, 1925-1997
Woodcock, George, 1912-1995
Related Links Audio Collections
History Collections

Journalism Collections

Literature Collections
Theatre Collections (Canadian)