University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Military Maps collection

Record No. SC122
Main Entry Military Maps Collection
Title Military Maps collection
Dates 1898-1960
Physical Description 1 m of cartographic material. -- 73 photographs.
Bio/Admin History Military maps have been collected by the McPherson Library since at least the early 1960s. Dr. R.H. Roy, the first incumbent of the Chair of Military History, solicited maps from veterans of the two world wars by placing letters to the editor in local newspapers and then turned the resulting donations over to the University Archives. Military map holdings have been augmented from time to time by other donations and have been complimented by the map component of records such as those of the Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's). A list of donors is included at the back of the inventory. The University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections has a mandate to acquire military maps.
Scope and Content The collection consists primarily of published map series of Europe during World War I and World War II, and several of Asia, Africa, Australia and North America. Some aerial photographs are included.
Title Source Title based on the contents of the collection.
Finding Aids Finding aids available.
Online Finding Aids Military Maps: An Inventory of the Holdings
D.N.D. Maps, Accession 1998-075 (PDF, 124 kB)
File List for Accession 2008-026

File List for Accession 2008-033
Restrictions
Notes
Provenance Roy, Reginald Herbert, 1922-, collector
University of Victoria (B.C.). Libraries. Special Collections, collector
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Aerial photographs
Europe--Aerial photographs
Europe--Maps
Military history--20th century
Military maps--Bibliography--Catalogues
Roy, Reginald H., 1922-
World War, 1914-1918--Maps--Bibliography--Catalogues
World War, 1939-1945--Maps--Bibliography--Catalogues
Related Links Military History Collections