University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Laura Riding collection

Record No. SC102
Main Entry Riding, Laura, 1901-1991
Title Laura Riding collection
Dates ca. 1960-1973
Physical Description 9 cm of textual records.
Bio/Admin History Laura Riding was an American poet, critic, editor and fiction writer. She was born in New York of American-Austrian descent and educated in Brooklyn and at Cornell University. She lived in England and other countries in Europe from 1925 to 1939, during which time she wrote "A Survey of Modernistic Poetry" and "A Pamphlet Against Anthologies", both in collaboration with Robert Graves, and "Collected Poems" and "Lives of Wives". She returned to the United States in 1939 and from 1941, when she married Schuyler Jackson, worked with his to produce a dictionary on original lines. As Laura Riding Jackson, she produced "The Telling" (1972).
Scope and Content The collection consists of manuscripts and typescripts of essays of Laura Riding (some with holograph corrections), with typed notes by Riding describing them. The collection also includes records relating to the work "The Telling", including typescripts with corrections.
Title Source Title based on the contents of the collection.
Finding Aids Finding aid available.
Online Finding Aids Finding Aid for Accessions 1977-074, 1994-119 (PDF, 13 kB)
Restrictions
Notes
Provenance Riding, Laura, 1901-1991
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Authors, American--20th century
English literature--20th century
Graves, Robert, 1895-1985
Jackson, Laura (Riding), 1901-1991. Telling
Riding, Laura, 1901-1991
Related Links Literature Collections