University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Ezra Pound collection

Record No. SC096
Main Entry Pound, Ezra, 1885-1972
Title Ezra Pound collection
Dates 1908-1961
Physical Description 17 cm of textual records.
Bio/Admin History Ezra Loomis Pound was a major twentieth century poet, critic and translator. He was born in Idaho and educated at the University of Pennsylvania. He went to England in 1908, living in London from 1908 to 1920 and became closely acquainted with T.S. Eliot and other intellectuals. In 1920, he left London and settled in Rome. He supported the fascist cause in Italy during World War II. Because of this, he was indicted for treason by the Americans. He was, however, found unfit to plead, and was confined to a mental institution until 1958. In his work, Pound championed the imagist and vorticist movements. His most important works include "Homage to Sextus Propertius", "Hugh Selwyn Mauberley", and the epic "Cantos". The University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections has a mandate to acquire literary papers.
Scope and Content The collection consists firstly, of poetry manuscripts and proofs including "Personae", "Lustra", and "Canzoni and Ripostes"; secondly, a prose manuscript of "That Audience, or the Bugaboo of the Public"; and thirdly, of correspondence to Elkin Mathews (publisher), St. John Adcock, Harry and Caresse Crosby (Black Sun Press), Louis Zukofsky, The British Union of Fascists, T.S. Eliot, Montgomery Belgion, Michael Harald, Clifford Gessler, and others.
Title Source Title based on the contents of the collection.
Finding Aids Item level descriptions available.
Online Finding Aids Inventory to the Ezra Pound Collection (PDF, 87 kB)
Restrictions
Notes Pound's correspondence with Else Seel is included in the Else Seel fonds. There is Belgion correspondence also in the T.S. Eliot collection.
Provenance University of Victoria (B.C.). Libraries. Special Collections, collector
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Adcock, Arthur St. John, 1864-1930
American literature--20th century
American poetry--20th century
Authors, American--Correspondence
Belgion, Montgomery, 1892-1973
Black Sun Press
British Union of Fascists
Crosby, Caresse, 1892-1970
Crosby, Harry, 1898-1929
E. Mathews (Firm)
Elkin Mathews & Marrot
Gessler, Clifford, 1893-1979
Harald, Michael
Mathews, Elkin, 1851-1921
Pound, Ezra, 1885-1972
Seel, Else, 1894-1974
Zukofsky, Louis, 1904-1978
Related Links Literature Collections