University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Alfred Perles collection

Record No. SC093
Main Entry Perles, Alfred
Title Alfred Perles collection
Dates 1938-1996
Physical Description 14 cm of textual records. -- artwork. -- typewriter.
Bio/Admin History Alfred Perles was born in Vienna to Czech parents. He was a writer who lived for many years in the literary circles of Paris, associating with writers such as Henry Miller and Lawrence Durrell. While in Paris, he published a magazine called "The Booster", which contained excerpts from the work of Miller, Durrell, and Anais Nin. One of his main claims to fame may be that he was the model for the character of "Carl", who figures in several of Miller's early autobiographical novels. Perles moved to England in around 1939 and later became a British citizen. He changed his last name to Barret in later life. Perles works include "My Friend Henry Miller", "Art and Outrage" (with Durrell), "A Correspondence About Henry Miller" (consisting of letters between Perlès and Lawrence Durrell), and "Scenes from a Floating Life" (autobiography).
Scope and Content The collection consists of an unidentified manuscript [unpublished novel?, 1955?]; typescript and corrected page proofs of "Alien Corn", 1944; typescripts, carbon typescripts, and galley proofs of "Art & Outrage", 1959, and "My Friend Henry Miller", 1955; plus some correspondence with writers and publishers. Correspondents include Henry Miller, Anais Nin, Lawrence Durrell, Anne Rives and Neville Spearman Ltd. The collection also consists of 5 watercolours by Alfred Perles; correspondence to Jacqueline Randal from Anne Barret and her daughter, Isobel; newspaper articles; Alfred Perles' typewriter; and a watercolour print by Henry Miller.
Title Source Title based on the contents of the collection.
Finding Aids Finding aid available.
Online Finding Aids Finding Aid for Accessions 1998-013, 2008-013
File List for Accession 2008-013
Restrictions
Notes
Provenance Perles, Alfred
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Durrell, Lawrence
Miller, Henry, 1891-1980
Neville Spearman Limited
Nin, Anais, 1903-1977
Perles, Alfred
Rives, Anne
Related Links Literature Collections