University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Denis Johnston collection

Record No. SC063
Main Entry Johnston, Denis, 1901-1984
Title Denis Johnston collection
Dates 1926-1969
Physical Description 10 cm of textual records.
Bio/Admin History Denis Johnston was an Irish playwright and writer. He was born in Dublin and educated at Dublin, Edinburgh, Cambridge and Harvard Law School, receiving an M.A. and LL.M. from Cambridge in 1926. He became interested in playwriting while he was at Harvard. Upon his return to Dublin, he wrote "Shadowdance" (later called "The Old Lady Says No!") in 1926. After practising law, both in Ireland and England, he joined the Dublin Gate Theatre and became its Director from 1931-1936. Next, he worked in various capacities for the BBC. After moving to America, he became head of the Department of Theatre at Smith College, Massachusetts in 1961 and subsequently held many academic posts in the United States until 1973. He authored numerous plays including "The Old Lady Says 'No'", "The Moon in the Yellow River", "The Golden Cuckoo", and "The Scythe and the Sunset". His autobiography, "Nine Rivers from Jordan", was published in 1953. This formed the basis for his later work "The Brazen Horn". He died in Dublin.
Scope and Content The collection consists of Johnston's second typescript draft (as finally rejected) of "Shadowdance", later called "The Old Lady Says No!", with holograph corrections by W.B. Yeats and others. Also included are photocopies of several early drafts of this play, including the aforementioned. In addition, there is the author's proof copy, with corrections, of "The Brazen Horn, Lenaea 5" (1968) [probably for 2nd ed. 1969, amended to Lenaea 6]. The collection also consists of correspondence from Denis and Betty Johnston to Bill and Mary Harbold from 1973-1982; a signed photograph of Johnston; photocopies of book reviews and book chapters re Johnston; a copy of Nine Rivers from Jordan with final corrections; and a copy of the libretto of Nine Rivers from Jordan.
Title Source Title based on the contents of the collection.
Finding Aids Box list available.
Online Finding Aids Box List for Accession 2009-006
Restrictions
Notes
Provenance Johnston, Denis, 1901-1984
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Authors, Irish--20th century--Manuscripts
Dramatists, Irish--20th century--Correspondence
Dramatists, Irish--Manuscripts
English drama--Irish authors
Irish drama
Irish literature
Johnston, Denis, 1901-1984
Johnston, Denis, 1901-1984. Brazen horn
Johnston, Denis, 1901-1984. Nine rivers from Jordan
Johnston, Denis, 1901-1984. Old lady says no!
Johnston, Denis, 1901-1984--Correspondence
Yeats, W. B. (William Butler), 1865-1939
Related Links Literature Collections
Theatre Collections