University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Robert Graves collection

Record No. SC050
Main Entry Graves, Robert, 1895-1985
Title Robert Graves collection
Dates 1934-1970
Physical Description 2.8 m of textual records. -- ca. 200 photographs. -- 22 drawings. -- 1 portrait.
Bio/Admin History Robert Graves was an English poet and novelist. Born in London, he was the son of A.P. Graves, who had taken a leading part in the Irish Renaissance in literature and music. Robert Graves was educated at Oxford and served with the British Army in France in World War I. Graves lived at various time in England and Majorca. His early poetry received critical praise. He also collaborated with Laura Riding in "A Survey of Modernist Poetry". He is best known for his historical novels, including "I, Claudius" and "Claudius the God". Other works include "Goodbye to All That" and "The Long Week-End". Graves was professor of poetry at Oxford from 1961 to 1966. The University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections has a mandate to acquire literary papers.
Scope and Content The collection consists of Graves' autograph diary (1935-1939), with enclosures including letters from his children, photographs, clippings, and transcripts of poems, articles and letters; correspondence written by Graves to various people, including Isla Cameron, Selwyn Jepson, Aemilia Laracuen, Andrew Mylett, and Raphael Patai; poetry worksheets (1965-1970) and prose and poetry worksheets (1970); manuscripts including essays, reviews, forewords, prefaces, articles, lectures, and for the works "King Jesus", "The Anger of Achilles", "Hebrew Myths: The Book of Genesis", "Greek Gods and Heroes", "An Ancient Castle", "La Luna de los Perros", and "Juvenalia and Other Poems"; photographs; and drawings of Majorca by Paul Hogarth. The collection is arranged in lots as its various parts were acquired not as a single purchase but from different book dealers at different times. The collection also consists of a copy of a letter from Robert Graves to UBC chemist Lionel Harrison with sample pages from the poetry book it refers to. The collection also consists of a portrait of RG by John Ulbricht done in 1968.
Title Source Title based on the contents of the collection.
Finding Aids Item level descriptions available.
Online Finding Aids A Robert Graves Full Inventory (PDF, 306 kB)
A Robert Graves Short Inventory

Robert Graves - Aemilia Laraçuen Correspondence (PDF, 44 kB)
File List for Accession 2004-014
(PDF, 53 kB)
File List for Accession 2009-028
File List for Accession 2010-021
Restrictions Some access restrictions apply
Notes
Provenance University of Victoria (B.C.). Libraries. Special Collections, collector
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Authors, English--20th century--Correspondence
Cameron, Isla
Graves, Robert, 1895-1985
Graves, Robert, 1895-1985--Correspondence
Graves, Robert, 1895-1985--Portraits
Harrison, Lionel G.
Jepson, Selwyn, 1899-1989
Laracuen, Aemilia, 1925-2007
Majorca (Spain)--Pictorial works
Mylett, Andrew
Patai, Raphael, 1910-1996
Related Links Literature Collections
Robert Graves Diary Project
Robert Graves Diary, Deya, 1935-1939