University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Oliver St. John Gogarty collection

Record No. SC047
Main Entry Gogarty, Oliver St. John, 1878-1957
Title Oliver St. John Gogarty collection
Dates ca. 1905-1954
Physical Description 1 cm of textual records.
Bio/Admin History Oliver St. John Gogarty was born in Dublin, Ireland, and educated at Stonyhurst, Trinity College, Oxford, and Vienna before qualifying as a surgeon. In addition, he was a writer associated with the Irish Renaissance. He was acquainted with George Moore, W.B. Yeats, James Joyce, and George Russell (AE), and recalled his youthful days in Dublin in his memoirs "As I Was Going Down Sackville Street" and "Tumbling in the Hay". He is the original of the character of Buck Milligan in Joyce's "Ulysses". Gogarty was appointed a Senator of the Irish Free State in 1922 and was active in political life until 1936, when the Senate was abolished. He moved to the United States in 1939 and died in New York City. The University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections has a mandate to acquire literary papers.
Scope and Content The collection consists of letters and verse written by Gogarty to G.K.A. Bell, Ulick O'Connor, and others [some of this material used in: Ulick O'Connor's The Times I've Seen: Oliver Sr. John Gogarty, NY, Obelensky, 1963, (SC) PR6013 O28Z8]. The others include 2 hls to W.R.. Fearon (1937), 3 pp re evidence given by Fearon in Henry Morris Sinclair's libel suit against Gogarty; 1 hls, 1 p to the President of the Irish Free State (11.09.38); 1 tls with h. additions, 3 pp to J.M.N. Jeffries (16.05.1933); 1 p h. with an 8 line comic verse about Hitler signed and dated 13.01.44; 1 tls., 1 p to "Seamus" (13.09.49); 1 tls. 2 pp to Mr. Smart (21.04.52). Also included is a holograph verse 6 pp. "To his Extraordinary Friend George Kennedy Allen Bell about to go to Switzerland," no date, on stationary headed "The Tower, Sandycove".
Title Source Title based on the contents of the collection.
Finding Aids
Online Finding Aids
Restrictions
Notes
Provenance University of Victoria (B.C.). Libraries. Special Collections, collector
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Bell, G. K. A. (George Kennedy Allen), 1883-1958
Gogarty, Oliver St. John, 1878-1957
History
Humorous poetry, Irish
Irish poetry--20th century
Legal documents
Literature
O'Connor, Ulick
Related Links History Collections
Legal Documents Collections

Literature Collections