University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

T.S. Eliot collection

Record No. SC041
Main Entry Eliot, T. S. (Thomas Stearns), 1888-1965
Title T.S. Eliot collection
Dates 1932-1963
Physical Description 6 cm of textual records. -- 2 photographs.
Bio/Admin History T.S. (Thomas Stearns) Eliot was born in St. Louis, Missouri. He was educated at Smith Academy, Milton Academy and Harvard University and moved to England in 1914. He also studied at the Sorbonne and Oxford University. He was naturalized as a British Subject in 1927. He is generally regarded as one of the central figures in 20th century English Literature. "The Waste Land" (1922) is considered a landmark of modernist poetry. Other poetic works include Prufrock and Other Observations and Four Quartets. In addition to his poetry, he gained renown as a dramatist, critic, and editor. Among his plays are Murder in the Cathedral (1935) and The Cocktail Party (1940). His critical essays on literature have been very influential. He was editor of The Egoist 1917-19, founder and editor of The Criterion 1922-39, and literary editor at Faber and Faber 1925-65. Chief among his many awards was the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1948. Eliot died in London. The University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections has a mandate to acquire literary papers.
Scope and Content The collection consists of correspondence from T.S. Eliot, photographs, a Lecture typescript with corrections, and an annotated book. The correspondence from Eliot is to: Mme. D. Bussy (including 1 unfinished reply and 2 from TSE's secretary) [1934-56]; Miss J.S. Bussy (daughter of above) [1939-56]; T. Tambimuttu [1959]; R. Thoma [1932]; M. Wykes-Joyce re Ezra Pound [1952] ; H.M. Belgion [1940-63]; Mrs. Harold Monro (Alida) [1934-60] including 2 photos; John Lehmann [1936-52]; Anthony Cronin [1958]; Francis Berry [1953] re Herbert Read. The typscript with corrections is TSE's lecture "From Poe to Valery". Also included is Herbert Read's The Education of Free Men (Freedom Press, 1944) with approx. 200 words of Eliot's holograph annotations throughout the text.
Title Source Title based on the contents of the collection.
Finding Aids Item list available.
Online Finding Aids Inventory to the T.S. Eliot Collection (PDF, 39 kB)
Restrictions
Notes There are also Eliot letters in the John Betjeman fonds and the Herbert Read fonds.
Provenance University of Victoria (B.C.). Libraries. Special Collections, collector
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Belgion, Montgomery, 1892-1973
Berry, Francis
Bussy, Dorothy
Bussy, Jane S.
Cronin, Anthony
Eliot, T. S. (Thomas Stearns), 1888-1965
Eliot, T. S. (Thomas Stearns), 1888-1965. From Poe to Valery
Eliot, T. S. (Thomas Stearns), 1888-1965--Correspondence
English poetry--20th century
Lehmann John, 1907-1987
Literature
Monro, Alida Klemantaski
Poets, English--20th century
Pound, Ezra, 1885-1972
Read, Herbert Edward, Sir, 1893-1968. Education of free men
Tambimuttu, 1915-1983
Thoma, R.
Wykes-Joyce, Max
Related Links Literature Collections