University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Dolmen Press collection

Record No. SC034
Main Entry Dolmen Press
Title Dolmen Press collection
Dates 1951-1964
Physical Description 70 cm of textual records.
Bio/Admin History The Dolmen Press was founded by Liam Miller at Drumcondra in 1951. It started as a small private press, using a hand press, with the intention of issuing works by Irish poets. In the early days of the press, some poets such as Thomas Kinsella, set up the type themselves. In 1954, the press was moved to Glenageary. In 1958, the printing shop was established in Dublin, due to their increased sources of work. The press moved to Portlaoise about 1980, and ceased in 1988, Liam Miller having died shortly beforehand.
Scope and Content The collection consists of manuscripts, typescripts, page proofs, galley proofs, correspondence and original illustrations of early books published by the Dolmen Press, comprising some of the work of about 25 writers. Included among these authors are Austin Clarke, Padraic Colum, Thomas Kinsella, and Richard Murphy. Also included are translations of earlier works in Irish and an edition of one of W. B. Yeats' works.
Title Source Title based on the contents of the collection.
Finding Aids File list available.
Online Finding Aids Dolmen Press Manuscripts (PDF, 85 kB)
Restrictions
Notes
Provenance Dolmen Press
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Authors and publishers--Ireland--History--20th century
Book design
Clarke, Austin, 1896-1974
Colum, Padraic, 1881-1972
Dolmen Press
Dolmen Press--Bibliography
Dolmen Press--Manuscripts
English literature--Irish authors--Bibliography
Irish literature--Bibliography
Kinsella, Thomas--Manuscripts
Miller, Liam
Murphy Richard, 1927 ---Manuscripts
Privately printed books--Bibliography
Publishers and publishing
Yeats, W. B. (William Butler), 1865-1939
Related Links Book Arts Collections
Publishing Collections