University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Mrs. Patrick Campbell collection

Record No. SC022
Main Entry Campbell, Patrick, 1865-1940
Title Mrs. Patrick Campbell collection
Dates 1888-1920
Physical Description 5 cm of textual records. -- 7 postcards. -- 23 photographs.
Bio/Admin History Beatrice Stella Cornwallis-West, known by her stage name as Mrs. Patrick Campbell, was a noted English stage actress, who remained popular for over 40 years. She created many classic roles, including Eliza Doolittle in George Bernard Shaw's "Pygmalion", a play written for her. She is also remembered for her famous correspondence with Shaw. The University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections has a mandate to acquire literary papers.
Scope and Content The collection consists of a few of her letters plus her autograph (ca. 1908); her portfolio photographs and photo-postcards; theatre programs and clippings relating to her performances.
Title Source Title based on the contents of the collection.
Finding Aids Handwritten list of items in folder three.
Online Finding Aids
Restrictions
Notes
Provenance University of Victoria (B.C.). Libraries. Special Collections, collector
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Actresses--Great Britain--Biography
Actresses--Great Britain--Correspondence
Actresses--Great Britain--Photographs
Campbell, Patrick, Mrs., 1865-1940
Drama
Related Links Theatre Collections