University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's) fonds

Record No. SC021
Main Entry Canada. Canadian Army. Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's)
Title Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's) fonds
Dates 1920-1991
Physical Description 4.5 m of textual records. -- 290 photographs. -- 181 maps. -- 1 videocassette.
Bio/Admin History The Canadian Scottish Regiment incorporated earlier First World War Victoria regiments. On 15 March 1920, Victoria's 88th and 50th Regiments were reorganized into the Canadian Scottish Regiment Non-Permanent Active Militia. On 1 August 1930, The Canadian Scottish again were reorganized into a two-battalion regiment, with the establishment of the 1st Battalion's headquarters in Victoria and the 2nd at Nanaimo. Following the outbreak of the Second World War, the 1st Battalion trained at Macaulay Point Barracks B.C., before traveling to Debert, Nova Scotia in October 1940, and to England in 1941. The 1st Battalion later took part in the Normandy invasion on 6 June, 1944. The 2nd Battalion trained in British Columbia and provided more than 800 officers and men to the 1st Battalion (the 2nd Battalion was disbanded in October 1943 and became the 66th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment (The Canadian Scottish Regiment) in April 1946). The 3rd (Reserve) Battalion of the Canadian Scottish Regiment was formed in July 1940 of part-time citizen soldiers. Her Royal Highness Princess Mary had been appointed by her father, King George V, as the Regiment's Colonel in Chief in 1930, but it was not until 29 April 1948 that her name officially became part of the regiment's title as The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's). Other post-war changes included the 1st Battalion taking command of reorganized infantry companies in Duncan, Nanaimo, Courtenay and Port Alberni. In May 1951 a company of the regiment was recruited from the 1st Canadian Highland Battalion in the North Atlantic Treaty Organization. Today they continue to provide volunteers for United Nations peace teams as part of our NATO commitment.
Scope and Content The fonds consists of records of the Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's). Primarily, the fonds contains the official war diaries kept by the regiment during World War Two. The diaries contain the daily logs, intelligence reports, orders, and newsletters, as well as records of individual experiences, of the 1st, 2nd, and 4th Battalions. A collection of maps and aerial photographs accompany these war diaries. The fonds also contains regimental records on training, dress regulations, personnel, the Bay Street Armoury, finances, and regimental correspondence. Additionally, the fonds includes the original manuscript and correspondence pertaining to historian Dr. Reginald Roy's book, "Ready for the Fray (Deas Gu Cath): the History of the Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's) 1920-1955". Also included are the regimental publications, The Brazier, The Courtenay Camp Chronicle, and The Maple Leaf. The fonds is arranged into 22 alphabetically organized series consisting of records generated and utilized by the Canadian Scottish Regiment from its creation in 1920 to the present.
Title Source Title based on the contents of the fonds.
Finding Aids Inventory available with series and file level control.
Online Finding Aids The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's): An Inventory of Regimental Records (PDF, 333 kB)
BC Archives Service Finding Aid (PDF, 78 kB)
Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's) Inventory
(PDF, 86 kB)
File List for Accession 2010-013
Restrictions
Notes
Provenance Canada. Canadian Army. Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's)
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Canada. Canadian Armed Forces
Canada. Canadian Army. Battalion, Canadian Scottish, 16th
Canada. Canadian Army. Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's)
Canada. Canadian Army.--Photographs
Roy, Reginald H., 1922- . Ready for the fray--Sources
World War, 1914-1918--Canada--Sources
World War, 1939-1945--Canada--Sources
Related Links Military History Collections