University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Canadian Army collection

Record No. SC020
Main Entry Canada. Canadian Army
Title Canadian Army collection
Dates 1899-1984
Physical Description 1.18 m of textual records. -- photographs. -- maps.
Bio/Admin History The Canadian Army was established in 1855 when the government passed the Militia Act, which provided for a paid, regular army consisting of active volunteer militia. Its forerunner was the militia dating back to 1651. The Canadian Army ceased in February 1968 with the integration of the Royal Canadian Navy, the Canadian Army and the Royal Canadian Air Force under the Canadian Armed Forces. The University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections has a mandate to acquire Canadian military records.
Scope and Content The collection consists of records documenting various branches of the Canadian Army. Collection includes photographs of parades and drills taken by the Department of National Defence; photocopies of military order of the 1st Canadian Army during World War II; copies of intelligence tests administered by the Canadian Armed Forces; correspondence, maps, daily reports and copies of morale reports of the Canadian Militia Training Centre No. 111, Gordon Head Camp, together with some photos; booklet of poems by R.W. Day of Sidney Camp; orders for Operation Overlord (D-Day) and other military orders of the 16th (Canadian Scottish) Infantry Battalion; and, miscellaneous reports (including those related to the Dieppe raid), brochures and reference material; Militia Orders (photocopy) 1899; "Secret War Diary" 1-31 May 1941, 6th Cdn. Infantry Brigade; 102 Battalion, 7th platoon roll book, 1896.
Title Source Title based on the contents of the collection.
Finding Aids Inventory available with series and file level control.
Online Finding Aids Canada. Canadian Army Inventory (PDF, 91 kB)
Restrictions
Notes See also Elsie Allan fonds.
Provenance University of Victoria (B.C.). Libraries. Special Collections, collector
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Canada. Canadian Armed Forces
Canada. Canadian Army
Canada. Canadian Army. Army, First
Canada. Canadian Army. Battalion, Canadian Scottish, 16th
Canada. Canadian Army. Canadian Infantry Brigade, 6th
Canada. Canadian Army.--Photographs
Canada. Canadian Army.--Recruiting, enlistment, etc.
Day, R. W.
Dieppe Raid, 1942
Gordon Head Army Camp (Victoria, B.C.)
Military history
Operation Overlord
World War, 1939-1945--Canada--Saanich (B.C.)--Gordon Head
World War, 1939-1945--Canada--Sources
Related Links Military History Collections