University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

John Gawsworth collection

Record No. SC005
Main Entry Gawsworth, John, 1912-1970
Title John Gawsworth collection
Dates 1931-1970
Physical Description 2 cm of textual records.
Bio/Admin History John Gawsworth was the pseudonym of Terence Ian Fytton Armstrong. He was an English poet, critic, bibliographer and editor. As well as compiling numerous anthologies, he published "Collected Poems" (1948) and "Ten Contemporaries" (1932, 1933). He was the editor of the "English Digest" (1939-1941) and other periodicals including "The Literary Digest" (1946-1949) and "The Poetry Review" (1948-1952).
Scope and Content The collection consists of letters from A.R. Orage, 1933-1934, manuscripts by Armstrong for "Focus" 21, "The Literary Digest", etc. (1945-1970) plus a review, a note, and a manuscript for "The Poetry Review" by G.S. Fraser, 1950-1952. Also included in the collection are enclosures from "Ten Contemporaries" [1932 & 1933]. These enclosures consist of research material and correspondence: re the publication of the two volumes, and the writers included in them.
Title Source Title based on the contents of the collection.
Finding Aids File list available.
Online Finding Aids File List (PDF, 20 kB)
Restrictions
Notes
Provenance Gawsworth, John, 1912-1970
Repository University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections
Subject Headings Criticism--Great Britain--History
Editing--England--20th century
English poetry--20th century
Fraser, G. S. (George Sutherland), 1915-1980
Gawsworth, John, 1912-1970
Literature Orage, A. R. (Alfred Richard), 1873-1934
Orage, A. R. (Alfred Richard), 1873-1934--Correspondence
Poets, English--20th century
Related Links Literature Collections