University of Victoria

UVic logo

UVic Libraries

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

Units & Collections

Canadian Military Oral History Collection Database

Canadian Military Oral History Collection Database

The Canadian Military Oral History Collection is composed of over 600 interviews of veterans of WWI, WWII, the Korean War and the War in Afghanistan. Over 370 recordings done by Dr. Reginald H. Roy and his students are the largest holding in the collection. Historian Hal Lawrence also donated over 180 recordings that he collected of Canadian Naval personnel. Summaries of all of the interviews can be found by searching the database. The provenance of smaller donations can be found below under Provenance.

Search the Database | View All Records

Guide to Database Headings:

Heading

Description

ID No. The unique identification number given to each interview.
Interviewee The name of the veteran interviewed as well as rank and year of birth and death (if known).
Title The title is based on the content of the interview.
Interviewer The name of the student or historian who conducted the interview.
Extent The type and size of media format used.
Provenance Notes which collection the interview belongs to.
Date/Place The date and location of the interview.
Notes Notes any additional information.
Synopsis Brief description of the interview.
Summary Description of the topics covered in the interview.
Original Notes the original type and size of media format used.
Digital Files Lists all digital files (eventually will link to corresponding online-accessible file via the Libraries' content management system)
Transcript Notes any available transcripts for the interview.
Preservation Notes when the interview was transferred to a digital format.
CD Notes the location of the disc the digital copy of the interview is stored on.
Restrictions Notes any restrictions of access.
Subject Heading Library of Congress enriched by DND subject headings for topics discussed in the interview.
Accession No. A coded number for use by library staff.
* * *
Guide to Provenance Headings:

Provenance

Description

David A.T. Stafford Collection Nine interviews conducted by Dr. David Stafford, retired history professor at the University of Victoria, for his monograph on Canadian intelligence operations in WWII.
Edward and Sharon Fitch Collection Fourteen interviews of Jewish veterans and non-veterans conducted by Edward and Sharon Fitch.
Elizabeth Hazlitte Collection Six interviews with veterans of WWI conducted from 1983-84 by Elizabeth Hazlitte, a nurse at Victoria's Veteran's Hospital at the Memorial Pavilion.
Hal Lawrence Collection Interviews conducted by Cmdr. Hal Lawrence in collaboration with National Defence/Defense nationale on the Canadian Navy (1940-1995). Some of these interviews have been transcribed and some are only available as transcripts.
Military Oral History Class Interviews Interviews conducted by History Department students as a component of the Canadian Veterans Oral History Project, a joint project of the Royal United Services Institute of Vancouver Island (RUSI VI) and University of Victoria.
Reginald H. Roy Collection Dr. Reginald H. Roy was the Chair of Military History (1968-88) and the Social Sciences Research Centre (1970-75) at the University of Victoria. The collection contains over three hundred sound recordings of oral histories conducted over his career.
Reginald H. Roy Guest Lecture Series Dr. Roy also contributed sixty-three tapes of lectures presented to Dr. Roy's history classes on Canadian foreign affairs and Military Strategic Studies.
Robert Winkenhower Interview Interview by Robert Winkenhower of Olga Ghosh about the experience of living in Germany in the 1930's.
Ross Purse Interview Interview of Russ Purse about his wartime experiences in Hong Kong and as a prisoner-of-war in Japan.
Shawn Cafferky Collection Fourteen interviews by military historian Dr. Shawn Cafferky of the University of Victoria's Department of History were conducted in 1997 and refer to the experimental Squadron VX-10, and the testing and use of the Sikorsky CH-124 Sea King helicopter.
Social Sciences Research Centre Collection This collection consists of extensive interviews with Major-General George R. Pearkes and other interviews with his family and a number of personal and professional associates for his biography entitled "For Most Conspicuous Bravery: A Biography of Major-General George R. Pearkes, V.C., Through Two World Wars" (1977).
Terril Utt Interview Interview of Thomas C. Miller about his military experiences as an enlisted man and an artillery officer during World War II.
Will Pratt Collection Interviews conducted by Will Pratt of Japanese-Canadian veterans who served in WWII.
Related Links