University of Victoria

UVic logo

Skip to Content | Skip to Sub-navigation

About the Libraries

Wyndham Lewis collection

Record No.

SC252

Main Entry

Lewis, Wyndham, 1882-1957

Title

Wyndham Lewis collection

Dates

1945-1956

Physical Description

1 cm of textual records.

Bio/Admin History

(Percy) Wyndham Lewis was an artist, writer, and critic. He was born on a yacht in the Bay of Fundy, Nova Scotia. He studied at the Slade School of Art, London. With Ezra Pound, Lewis founded Blast (1914-15), the magazine of Vorticism. His writings include the novel The Apes of God (1930), and The Human Age (1955-6); literary criticism including Men Without Art (1934), and autobiographical books, such as Blasting and Bombardiering (1937). His produced works include abstract art, a series of war pictures, and portraits.

Scope and Content

The collection consists of: 2 leaves of ts with holograph corrections of explanatory notes on the Plates for The Demon of Progress in the Arts (1954); 10 leaves of ts with holograph revisions of "Chapter i: The "do-nothing mode"" (about Lewis's father); 21 leaves of carbon ts with holograph corrections of chapters 4-6 of Painting as a Sport ; 7 leaves of carbon ts with holograph corrections with a note to "Mrs. Gilliat"; 3 leaves of a holograph review of Swabey's "The English Church and Usury"; 19 leaves of a ts review with holograph corrections of Harry Slochower's No Voice is Wholley Lost.

Title Source

Title based on the contents of the collection.

Finding Aids

Online Finding Aids

Restrictions

Notes

See also the Wyndham Lewis subject file in the Cyril James Fox fonds.

Provenance

University of Victoria (B.C.). Libraries. Special Collections, collector

Repository

University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections

Names

Lewis, Wyndham, 1882-1957

Related Links

Art Collections

Literature Collections

Page updated: Tuesday September 15 2009